Pakistan visa-on-arrival extended for 50 countries

With an aim to boost tourism industry and foreign investment, the government on Friday announced a new visa policy encouraging tou­rists from 50 countries to avail themselves of visa-on-arrival facility and providing e-visa to citizens of 175 countries.

This is the first time in decades that a formal policy is being introduced to allow citizens of such a large number of countries to get the visa on arrival, as the visa-on-arrival facility was previously available to nationals of 24 countries only.

“We have mountain tourism, religious tourism, beach tourism, cities and huge food tourism. For this initiative, all agencies and departments put their heads together at the prime minister’s suggestion,” the Minister of Information Fawad Chaudhry said.

The minister said the new policy paves the way for IATA-approved tour operators to bring tourist groups to the country.

Business visas will now be provided to citizens of 96 countries, which was earlier slotted to 68 countries, he said adding that he business visas will be stamped in eight to ten days.

Pakistan visa on arrival extended to 50 countries