Greece imposes testing requirement for travelers arriving from 13 countries

All unvaccinated travelers arriving from Egypt, Albania, Argentina, Brazil, Georgia, Cuba, United Arab Emirates, India, China, Libya, Morocco, Russia and Turkey, regardless of their nationality, are required to get tested upon arrival, the Greek authorities have announced.

According to a press release, the Greek Aviation Authority (CAA) has also warned that the entry ban for the incoming international flights will be expanded until August 27, as an effort to halt the spread of the Coronavirus, Schengen Visa Info reports.

In addition, the NOTAM for incoming flights from abroad that will be valid until Friday includes the following:

  • Prohibition of third-country nationals, including their spouses or persons with whom they have entered into a cohabitation agreement, from entering the country
  • Permission for passengers travelling for essential reasons and permanent residents of Australia, Northern Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican, Monaco, Turkey and Kosovo

All travellers arriving in Greece, regardless of nationality, are required to fill in the electronic form, Passenger Locator Form (PFL), before the flight departure to Greece. The completed PLF form is automatically sent by e-mail to the passenger and is considered a necessary travel document.

In order to enter Greece, the travellers must present the following:

1) A vaccination certificate indicating the holder has been inoculated against Coronavirus at least 14 days before travelling. The document must be presented either in Greek, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Russian, and must be issued by a public authority.

2) A negative PCR test result taken 72 hours within departure or 48 hours for rapid test

3) A recovery certificate was issued 30 days ago, indicating the holder was infected with Coronavirus and is immune to it for 180 days after the document has been issued.

4) Flight travellers from abroad may also carry, in digital or printed form, a European digital certificate COVID-19 (EU Digital COVID-19 Vaccination Passport), which contains information on vaccination, recovery or testing status of the holder. Vaccination and testing requirements apply to all passengers over the age of 12.

Greece is the country that recognises the highest number of vaccines, ten of them, which are:

  1. Pfizer/BioNTech (Comirnaty)
  2. Moderna (Spikevax)
  3. AstraZeneca (Vaxzevria)
  4. Johnson & Johnson (Janssen)
  5. Sinovac (CoronaVac)
  6. AstraZeneca – Serum Institute of India (Covishield)
  7. Novavax
  8. Sputnik V
  9. Cansino Biologics
  10. Sinopharm BIBP

Travellers that inoculated with one of these vaccines are permitted in the country without entering quarantine requirements, according to Schengen Visa Info.

For detailed information click here.